
Study in Australia After 12th for Indian Students
Study in Australia After 12th for Indian Students: 2027 Routes by Marks & Board To study in Australia after 12th
A masters in Australia for Indian students takes 1 to 2 years, and 2027 tuition for an IT or computing master’s runs AUD 27,000 to AUD 68,480 a year. To stay and work after you graduate on the 485 work visa, your study in Australia must total at least 92 registered weeks, about two academic years, under the Home Affairs Australian study requirement. Indian graduates of a master’s then get 3 years of work rights; most others get 2.
Key Takeaways
Find your row first:
| Your profile | Course to target | Where to apply first | By when |
|---|---|---|---|
| 4-year B.Tech or BE in CS or IT | 2-year IT or computing master’s | UNSW, Sydney | 18 Dec 2026 (Sydney) for Feb 2027 |
| 3-year BCom, BSc or BCA | 2-year master’s, any discipline (see the business fee table) | Deakin first, then Monash or UniSQ | Any of Deakin’s three intakes a year (trimesters) |
| Average below 65% | 2-year master’s with a lower published floor | Monash, RMIT, Griffith | July 2027 intake (RMIT) |
| Married, or planning to marry | Taught master’s, travelling alone; or a PhD | Any university: the rule is national | Before you submit the visa application |
| Loan-dependent family | 2-year master’s, priced as a whole course | UNSW, UQ, Deakin (university scholarships) | Before you pay the deposit |
Melbourne and Adelaide University take Indian graduates only through an authorised education agent (a recruiter the university has approved), under Melbourne’s information for students from India and Adelaide University’s how-to-apply rules.
Still weighing a masters in Australia for Indian students against other countries? Our study in Australia guide compares cities, costs and student life.
A master's registered for 1 year cannot, on its own, earn the 485 post-study work visa. In 2026, the Home Affairs Australian study requirement sets a floor of 92 weeks of study, about two academic years. It counts the course's length on CRICOS (the government register of courses for overseas students). The 485 looks at registered length, not price.
Several large universities sell the same master’s at more than one length:
In 2026, a taught master’s earns a 2-year stay on the standard 485 work visa. Indian nationals get 3 years under the India-Australia trade agreement (AI-ECTA). The visa charge starts at AUD 5,750. You must apply at 35 or younger (under 50 if you qualify with a research master’s or PhD).
In this year’s briefings, students who shortlisted only 2-year master’s kept the 485 open. Our Australia post-study work visa guide covers the 485 application.
From our counselling desk: The costliest mistake we see each intake: a student picks the 1-year or 1.5-year version of a course to save a semester's fees. At graduation, they learn that a course registered for under 92 weeks can't earn the 485 on its own.
For 2027 entry, a computing master’s at Melbourne, Sydney, ANU, Monash or UQ costs AUD 57,540 to AUD 68,480 a year (₹38.7-46.1 lakh). All five rank in the top 40 of the QS World University Rankings 2027, and each costs at least AUD 10,500 (₹7.1 lakh) a year more than RMIT, Deakin or Griffith.
| University | QS 2027 | IT master’s tuition (AUD, INR) | 3-year Indian degree | Minimum score |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| UNSW Sydney | 19 | Master of IT: AUD 63,000 (₹42.4 lakh), 2026 first-year fee | Yes, 3-year named | 65% average |
| University of Melbourne | =22 | Master of IT: AUD 68,480 (₹46.1 lakh) | Any bachelor’s (length not specified) | 65% average, plus one programming subject |
| University of Sydney | 28 | Master of Computer Science: AUD 60,800 (₹40.9 lakh) | Any bachelor’s (length not specified) | Credit average (65%) or equivalent |
| ANU | 29 | Master of Computing: AUD 57,640 (₹38.8 lakh) | Any bachelor’s (length not specified) | 55-70% (by college; plan on 70%) |
| Monash University | 31 | Master of IT: AUD 57,540 (₹38.7 lakh) | Yes, 3-year named | 60% average |
| University of Queensland | =40 | Master of Computer Science: AUD 60,952 (₹41.0 lakh) | Not specified; related field required | CGPA 6/10 where 4 is a pass, or 6.67 where 5 is a pass (colleges on UQ’s Section 1 list for India) |
| Adelaide University | 79 | Master of IT (Computing and Innovation): AUD 55,400 (₹37.3 lakh) | Any bachelor’s (length not specified) | GPA 4.5/7 |
| UTS | =87 | Master of IT: AUD 118,054.80 (₹79.4 lakh) for the whole 2-year course | Any bachelor’s (length not specified) | Pass 75% of subjects |
| RMIT University | =119 | Master of IT: AUD 47,040 (₹31.6 lakh) | Any bachelor’s (length not specified) | GPA 2.0/4 |
| Deakin University | 227 | Master of IT: AUD 45,800 (₹30.8 lakh), first-year estimate | Yes, 3-year named | Not published |
| Griffith University | =230 | Master of IT: AUD 45,500 (₹30.6 lakh) | Any bachelor’s (length not specified) | GPA 4.0/7 |
| UniSQ | =411 | Master of IT: AUD 31,840 (₹21.4 lakh), 2026 estimate | Yes, 3-year named | Not published |
Fees are per year for 2027 unless marked; UTS states no year. In the QS column, = means tied rank. “Length not specified” means the rule doesn’t say, so ask before you apply.
GPA cells use each university’s own scale, not a percentage. ANU groups Indian colleges into three Sections in its entry requirements for Indian applicants, so plan on its 70% floor, which clears all three.
INR figures use the live Google-published rate captured on 2026-10-08: A$1 ≈ ₹67.26. Rates fluctuate intraday; figures are indicative.
| University | Business master’s (course) | Course length | Per year (AUD, INR) |
|---|---|---|---|
| UNSW Sydney | Professional Accounting | 1.7 years | AUD 62,000 (₹41.7 lakh), 2026 first-year fee |
| University of Melbourne | Business Analytics | 1 year | AUD 91,488 (₹61.5 lakh) for the whole course, 2026 fee |
| University of Sydney | Professional Accounting and Business Performance | 2 years | AUD 64,800 (₹43.6 lakh) |
| ANU | Professional Accounting | 1.5 years | AUD 57,640 (₹38.8 lakh) |
| Monash University | Professional Accounting | 1.5 or 2 years | AUD 62,140 (₹41.8 lakh) |
| University of Queensland | Commerce (Professional Accounting) | 1.5 or 2 years | AUD 60,952 (₹41.0 lakh) |
| Adelaide University | Professional Accounting | 1.5 years | AUD 54,300 (₹36.5 lakh) |
| UTS | Professional Accounting | 1.5 years | AUD 54,590 (₹36.7 lakh), first year |
| RMIT University | Professional Accounting | 2 years (1.5 accelerated) | AUD 50,880 (₹34.2 lakh) |
| Deakin University | Professional Accounting | 1, 1.5 or 2 years | AUD 48,000 (₹32.3 lakh), first full-time year estimate |
| Griffith University | Professional Accounting | 1 to 2 years | AUD 42,500 (₹28.6 lakh) |
| UniSQ | Master of Business | 2 years | AUD 33,600 (₹22.6 lakh), 2026 estimate |
Fees are 2027 unless marked 2026. A course registered for 1 or 1.5 years misses the 485 on its own. Finishing a 2-year course early still counts if your study in Australia takes at least 16 calendar months. Check UNSW’s 1.7 years in registered weeks, or pick a 2-year version.
Our guide to universities in Australia covers each campus.
None of the 12 IT master’s in our table asks for GRE or GMAT, so skip that prep and book IELTS or PTE.
For 2027 entry, Melbourne and Monash both ask for IELTS Academic 6.5 with no band below 6.0 for their Master of IT. The Monash Master of Information Technology also accepts PTE Academic 58, with 50 in each skill. RMIT’s guide to a master’s in Australia lists TOEFL iBT 79 as a guide only, with at least 13 Reading, 12 Listening, 18 Speaking and 21 Writing.
If you hold a 3-year degree and want an MBA, the 2-year work rule matters more than your degree length.
Not every course asks for an SOP (statement of purpose). The University of Sydney’s steps for international applicants ask for academic certificates and transcripts, proof of English and ID such as a passport. A CV may be needed depending on your background, and some Sydney programs may need a personal statement or portfolio. Our Australia requirements guide lists documents for every level.
Year one of a 2027 IT or computing master’s in Australia costs AUD 59,882 to AUD 101,362 (₹40.3-68.2 lakh). That covers tuition, health cover, the visa charge and the AUD 29,710 (₹20.0 lakh) a year of living funds required for the student visa (Subclass 500).
| Year-one cost | Lower end | Upper end |
|---|---|---|
| IT or computing tuition | AUD 27,000 (₹18.2 lakh), Southern Cross University Master of IT | AUD 68,480 (₹46.1 lakh), Melbourne Master of IT fees |
| Visa living costs | AUD 29,710 (₹20.0 lakh) | AUD 29,710 (₹20.0 lakh) |
| Student visa charge (starting price) | AUD 2,500 (₹1.68 lakh) | AUD 2,500 (₹1.68 lakh) |
| Overseas Student Health Cover (OSHC), the visa’s required health insurance: 12 months, single | AUD 672 (₹45,200) | AUD 672 (₹45,200) |
| Year-one total | AUD 59,882 (₹40.3 lakh) | AUD 101,362 (₹68.2 lakh) |
Health cover is ahm OSHC‘s single price for a February 2027 start, if you buy before 1 November 2026.
Parents: plan the loan for the whole course (AUD 143,808 tuition for Melbourne’s Master of IT). Instead of savings, the visa accepts proof that one parent or the student’s partner earned at least AUD 87,856 in the 12 months before applying. Two working parents’ incomes may be combined. The proof is government papers such as tax assessments under 12 months old, not bank statements or employer letters.
By law (the ESOS Act), a university cannot take more than half the total tuition before the course starts, unless you choose to pay more.
Four scholarships cut tuition:
Count on the UNSW award first: all Indian students are eligible. Our scholarships in Australia guide covers more; these don’t fund an Indian master’s:
A BCom graduate who misses a December deadline can still start in July or August.
Our Australia intakes guide covers more universities. After the offer, the visa steps come in this order:
Once you arrive, you can work up to 48 hours every two weeks while your course is in session. You can’t work before your course starts. Our Australia student visa guide covers the documents for each step.
Since 2 October 2026, the new student visa rules mean only a few groups may still include a partner or children. They are PhD students, Australian government scholars (Foreign Affairs or Defence), foreign-government scholars, and eligible Pacific or ASEAN students.
Plan a masters in Australia for Indian students around a first salary well below what local graduates earn.
In Australia’s official graduate survey for 2025, 45.1% of Indian graduates of taught postgraduate courses who were seeking full-time work had it 4 to 6 months after finishing. Their median salary was AUD 65,000. In the survey’s national report, domestic graduates of postgraduate coursework (taught master’s and similar courses) earned a median AUD 104,700.
If you want an employer to sponsor you (offer you a job and back your visa), the job must pay at least AUD 79,423. That’s the Core Skills Income Threshold, the salary floor for sponsorships lodged from 1 July 2026 to 30 June 2027. It’s more than the median Indian graduate earns.
Choose your field for the job market, then your campus for the points. Our in-demand courses in Australia guide shows which fields to start with, and the best courses to study in Australia guide ranks ten of them by graduate job rate.
Get in Touch
Is a 1-year masters in Australia enough for the 485 visa?
No, not on its own. The 485 work visa needs a course registered for at least 92 weeks of study, about two academic years. A course registered for 1 year falls short. When a university offers 1, 1.5 and 2-year entry points for the same master’s, choose the 2-year one if you want to stay and work afterwards.
Can I do a masters in Australia after a 3-year degree?
Yes, at many universities. Deakin sets a 3-year degree as the minimum for any taught master’s. Monash runs a 2-year Master of IT for any bachelor’s with at least a 60% average, and UniSQ’s Master of IT takes a 3-year bachelor’s in any area. Pick the 2-year version so the course also keeps your 485 open.
What does a 2-year masters in Australia cost in INR?
This counts tuition and living funds only, not visa charges or health cover. Melbourne’s 2-year Master of IT totals AUD 203,228 (₹1.37 crore): AUD 143,808 (₹96.7 lakh) tuition plus two years at AUD 29,710 (₹20.0 lakh). At Southern Cross University’s Master of IT, if its AUD 27,000 (₹18.2 lakh) fee holds in year 2, it is AUD 113,420 (₹76.3 lakh).
Can my spouse come with me on a masters student visa?
No, in most cases. From 2 October 2026, most Student visa applicants cannot include a partner or children, and family cannot join you later. A taught or research master’s is not exempt. PhD students may still include family, so a couple who must travel together should look at doctoral study instead.
Does a masters in Australia guarantee PR?
No. The PR points test sets 65 points as the minimum to be invited, and 65 is only the floor. A 92-week master’s adds 5 points; living and studying in an eligible regional area adds 5 more. A sponsored job must pay at least AUD 79,423 (₹53.4 lakh) for sponsorships lodged from 1 July 2026 to 30 June 2027.
Ardent Overseas advises Indian students on Australian master’s admissions from its offices in Hyderabad and Tirupati. Its study in Australia consultants in Hyderabad shortlist courses by registered length in weeks so the 485 stays open, plan tuition, living funds and education loans with families, and check offer letters and student visa files before they are submitted. The papers for that file are in our documents required to study in Australia checklist.
Everything you need to study abroad, in one place.
Explore articles and guides that help you prepare with confidence, covering scholarship applications, financial planning, and tips for adapting to a new culture. We have built comprehensive resources to get you ready for your educational adventure.

Study in Australia After 12th for Indian Students
Study in Australia After 12th for Indian Students: 2027 Routes by Marks & Board To study in Australia after 12th

Masters in Australia for Indian Students
Masters in Australia for Indian Students 2027: Fees, Top Universities & The 485 A masters in Australia for Indian students

In Demand Courses in Australia for Indian Students
In-Demand Courses in Australia for Indian Students: Shortage List and Pay (2026) On the 2025 Occupation Shortage List, the in-demand