Masters in Australia for Indian Students 2027: Fees, Top Universities & The 485

Masters in Australia for Indian Students
Masters in Australia for Indian Students

A masters in Australia for Indian students takes 1 to 2 years, and 2027 tuition for an IT or computing master’s runs AUD 27,000 to AUD 68,480 a year. To stay and work after you graduate on the 485 work visa, your study in Australia must total at least 92 registered weeks, about two academic years, under the Home Affairs Australian study requirement. Indian graduates of a master’s then get 3 years of work rights; most others get 2.

Key Takeaways

  • A master’s must be registered for 92 weeks or more to earn the 485 on its own.
  • The 485 gives a taught (coursework) master’s 2 years, or 3 for Indian nationals. It costs from AUD 5,750 (₹3.87 lakh).
  • 2027 tuition for an IT or computing master’s runs AUD 27,000 to AUD 68,480 a year (₹18.2-46.1 lakh).
  • Melbourne’s 2-year Master of IT has an indicative tuition total of AUD 143,808 (₹96.7 lakh).
  • From 2 October 2026, most master’s students cannot include a partner or children on their visa.
  • Indian graduates of taught postgraduate courses earned a median AUD 65,000 (₹43.7 lakh), and 45.1% of those who wanted full-time work had it 4 to 6 months after finishing.

Find your row first:

Your profileCourse to targetWhere to apply firstBy when
4-year B.Tech or BE in CS or IT2-year IT or computing master’sUNSW, Sydney18 Dec 2026 (Sydney) for Feb 2027
3-year BCom, BSc or BCA2-year master’s, any discipline (see the business fee table)Deakin first, then Monash or UniSQAny of Deakin’s three intakes a year (trimesters)
Average below 65%2-year master’s with a lower published floorMonash, RMIT, GriffithJuly 2027 intake (RMIT)
Married, or planning to marryTaught master’s, travelling alone; or a PhDAny university: the rule is nationalBefore you submit the visa application
Loan-dependent family2-year master’s, priced as a whole courseUNSW, UQ, Deakin (university scholarships)Before you pay the deposit

Melbourne and Adelaide University take Indian graduates only through an authorised education agent (a recruiter the university has approved), under Melbourne’s information for students from India and Adelaide University’s how-to-apply rules.

Still weighing a masters in Australia for Indian students against other countries? Our study in Australia guide compares cities, costs and student life.

Why a 1-year masters in Australia can cost you the 485 visa

A master's registered for 1 year cannot, on its own, earn the 485 post-study work visa. In 2026, the Home Affairs Australian study requirement sets a floor of 92 weeks of study, about two academic years. It counts the course's length on CRICOS (the government register of courses for overseas students). The 485 looks at registered length, not price.

Several large universities sell the same master’s at more than one length:

  • Melbourne Master of IT: 1, 1.5 or 2 years, depending on your earlier study.
  • Monash Master of IT: 1.5 or 2 years, set by your prior degree.
  • UQ Master of Computer Science: 1 or 1.5 years, so neither version reaches two academic years by itself.
  • UNSW Master of IT: the 1-year version needs a 4-year honours degree in a related field.

In 2026, a taught master’s earns a 2-year stay on the standard 485 work visa. Indian nationals get 3 years under the India-Australia trade agreement (AI-ECTA). The visa charge starts at AUD 5,750. You must apply at 35 or younger (under 50 if you qualify with a research master’s or PhD).

In this year’s briefings, students who shortlisted only 2-year master’s kept the 485 open. Our Australia post-study work visa guide covers the 485 application.

From our counselling desk: The costliest mistake we see each intake: a student picks the 1-year or 1.5-year version of a course to save a semester's fees. At graduation, they learn that a course registered for under 92 weeks can't earn the 485 on its own.

Top universities in Australia for masters: 2027 fees and QS ranks

For 2027 entry, a computing master’s at Melbourne, Sydney, ANU, Monash or UQ costs AUD 57,540 to AUD 68,480 a year (₹38.7-46.1 lakh). All five rank in the top 40 of the QS World University Rankings 2027, and each costs at least AUD 10,500 (₹7.1 lakh) a year more than RMIT, Deakin or Griffith.

UniversityQS 2027IT master’s tuition (AUD, INR)3-year Indian degreeMinimum score
UNSW Sydney19Master of IT: AUD 63,000 (₹42.4 lakh), 2026 first-year feeYes, 3-year named65% average
University of Melbourne=22Master of IT: AUD 68,480 (₹46.1 lakh)Any bachelor’s (length not specified)65% average, plus one programming subject
University of Sydney28Master of Computer Science: AUD 60,800 (₹40.9 lakh)Any bachelor’s (length not specified)Credit average (65%) or equivalent
ANU29Master of Computing: AUD 57,640 (₹38.8 lakh)Any bachelor’s (length not specified)55-70% (by college; plan on 70%)
Monash University31Master of IT: AUD 57,540 (₹38.7 lakh)Yes, 3-year named60% average
University of Queensland=40Master of Computer Science: AUD 60,952 (₹41.0 lakh)Not specified; related field requiredCGPA 6/10 where 4 is a pass, or 6.67 where 5 is a pass (colleges on UQ’s Section 1 list for India)
Adelaide University79Master of IT (Computing and Innovation): AUD 55,400 (₹37.3 lakh)Any bachelor’s (length not specified)GPA 4.5/7
UTS=87Master of IT: AUD 118,054.80 (₹79.4 lakh) for the whole 2-year courseAny bachelor’s (length not specified)Pass 75% of subjects
RMIT University=119Master of IT: AUD 47,040 (₹31.6 lakh)Any bachelor’s (length not specified)GPA 2.0/4
Deakin University227Master of IT: AUD 45,800 (₹30.8 lakh), first-year estimateYes, 3-year namedNot published
Griffith University=230Master of IT: AUD 45,500 (₹30.6 lakh)Any bachelor’s (length not specified)GPA 4.0/7
UniSQ=411Master of IT: AUD 31,840 (₹21.4 lakh), 2026 estimateYes, 3-year namedNot published

Fees are per year for 2027 unless marked; UTS states no year. In the QS column, = means tied rank. “Length not specified” means the rule doesn’t say, so ask before you apply.

GPA cells use each university’s own scale, not a percentage. ANU groups Indian colleges into three Sections in its entry requirements for Indian applicants, so plan on its 70% floor, which clears all three.

INR figures use the live Google-published rate captured on 2026-10-08: A$1 ≈ ₹67.26. Rates fluctuate intraday; figures are indicative.

UniversityBusiness master’s (course)Course lengthPer year (AUD, INR)
UNSW SydneyProfessional Accounting1.7 yearsAUD 62,000 (₹41.7 lakh), 2026 first-year fee
University of MelbourneBusiness Analytics1 yearAUD 91,488 (₹61.5 lakh) for the whole course, 2026 fee
University of SydneyProfessional Accounting and Business Performance2 yearsAUD 64,800 (₹43.6 lakh)
ANUProfessional Accounting1.5 yearsAUD 57,640 (₹38.8 lakh)
Monash UniversityProfessional Accounting1.5 or 2 yearsAUD 62,140 (₹41.8 lakh)
University of QueenslandCommerce (Professional Accounting)1.5 or 2 yearsAUD 60,952 (₹41.0 lakh)
Adelaide UniversityProfessional Accounting1.5 yearsAUD 54,300 (₹36.5 lakh)
UTSProfessional Accounting1.5 yearsAUD 54,590 (₹36.7 lakh), first year
RMIT UniversityProfessional Accounting2 years (1.5 accelerated)AUD 50,880 (₹34.2 lakh)
Deakin UniversityProfessional Accounting1, 1.5 or 2 yearsAUD 48,000 (₹32.3 lakh), first full-time year estimate
Griffith UniversityProfessional Accounting1 to 2 yearsAUD 42,500 (₹28.6 lakh)
UniSQMaster of Business2 yearsAUD 33,600 (₹22.6 lakh), 2026 estimate

Fees are 2027 unless marked 2026. A course registered for 1 or 1.5 years misses the 485 on its own. Finishing a 2-year course early still counts if your study in Australia takes at least 16 calendar months. Check UNSW’s 1.7 years in registered weeks, or pick a 2-year version.

Our guide to universities in Australia covers each campus.

Masters in Australia eligibility: percentage, 3-year degree and English

None of the 12 IT master’s in our table asks for GRE or GMAT, so skip that prep and book IELTS or PTE.

For 2027 entry, Melbourne and Monash both ask for IELTS Academic 6.5 with no band below 6.0 for their Master of IT. The Monash Master of Information Technology also accepts PTE Academic 58, with 50 in each skill. RMIT’s guide to a master’s in Australia lists TOEFL iBT 79 as a guide only, with at least 13 Reading, 12 Listening, 18 Speaking and 21 Writing.

  • 3-year degree: Deakin’s entry rules set a 3-year bachelor’s as the minimum for any taught master’s. UniSQ’s Master of IT takes a 3-year bachelor’s in any subject, or 5 years of professional work experience instead.
  • Work in place of marks: if you passed fewer than 75% of your subjects, the UTS Master of IT also takes a bachelor’s in any field plus 2 years of full-time relevant work.
  • Marks conversion: Melbourne may adjust your average for your university’s accreditation, grading and pass marks, so a 65% in India may not count as 65% there.
  • MBA instead of IT: the Melbourne Business School full-time MBA and UNSW’s full-time MBA both ask for at least 2 years of work experience. Melbourne Business School also wants a GMAT or GRE score.

If you hold a 3-year degree and want an MBA, the 2-year work rule matters more than your degree length.

Not every course asks for an SOP (statement of purpose). The University of Sydney’s steps for international applicants ask for academic certificates and transcripts, proof of English and ID such as a passport. A CV may be needed depending on your background, and some Sydney programs may need a personal statement or portfolio. Our Australia requirements guide lists documents for every level.

Cost of a masters in Australia in INR, and the scholarships that cut it

Year one of a 2027 IT or computing master’s in Australia costs AUD 59,882 to AUD 101,362 (₹40.3-68.2 lakh). That covers tuition, health cover, the visa charge and the AUD 29,710 (₹20.0 lakh) a year of living funds required for the student visa (Subclass 500).

Year-one costLower endUpper end
IT or computing tuitionAUD 27,000 (₹18.2 lakh), Southern Cross University Master of ITAUD 68,480 (₹46.1 lakh), Melbourne Master of IT fees
Visa living costsAUD 29,710 (₹20.0 lakh)AUD 29,710 (₹20.0 lakh)
Student visa charge (starting price)AUD 2,500 (₹1.68 lakh)AUD 2,500 (₹1.68 lakh)
Overseas Student Health Cover (OSHC), the visa’s required health insurance: 12 months, singleAUD 672 (₹45,200)AUD 672 (₹45,200)
Year-one totalAUD 59,882 (₹40.3 lakh)AUD 101,362 (₹68.2 lakh)

Health cover is ahm OSHC‘s single price for a February 2027 start, if you buy before 1 November 2026.

Parents: plan the loan for the whole course (AUD 143,808 tuition for Melbourne’s Master of IT). Instead of savings, the visa accepts proof that one parent or the student’s partner earned at least AUD 87,856 in the 12 months before applying. Two working parents’ incomes may be combined. The proof is government papers such as tax assessments under 12 months old, not bank statements or employer letters.

By law (the ESOS Act), a university cannot take more than half the total tuition before the course starts, unless you choose to pay more.

Four scholarships cut tuition:

Count on the UNSW award first: all Indian students are eligible. Our scholarships in Australia guide covers more; these don’t fund an Indian master’s:

2027 intakes, deadlines and the Subclass 500 visa for a masters

A BCom graduate who misses a December deadline can still start in July or August.

  • University of Sydney application dates: international postgraduate applications for the August semester close on 29 May.
  • UQ: Semester 1 starts in February 2027 and Semester 2 in July 2027.
  • Melbourne: March and July intakes for the Master of IT.
  • RMIT Master of IT and Adelaide University Professional Accounting: February and July intakes.

Our Australia intakes guide covers more universities. After the offer, the visa steps come in this order:

  1. Accept your offer and pay the deposit the university asks for.
  2. Receive your Confirmation of Enrolment (CoE), the university’s proof you’ve enrolled, which you need for the visa.
  3. Buy OSHC for your whole stay, unless an exception applies to you.
  4. Answer the Genuine Student requirement questions (the test that study is your real reason for coming), each in up to 150 words.
  5. Apply for your student visa from outside Australia; most people on temporary visas can no longer apply from inside the country.

Once you arrive, you can work up to 48 hours every two weeks while your course is in session. You can’t work before your course starts. Our Australia student visa guide covers the documents for each step.

Since 2 October 2026, the new student visa rules mean only a few groups may still include a partner or children. They are PhD students, Australian government scholars (Foreign Affairs or Defence), foreign-government scholars, and eligible Pacific or ASEAN students.

Jobs, salaries and PR after a masters in Australia

Plan a masters in Australia for Indian students around a first salary well below what local graduates earn.

In Australia’s official graduate survey for 2025, 45.1% of Indian graduates of taught postgraduate courses who were seeking full-time work had it 4 to 6 months after finishing. Their median salary was AUD 65,000. In the survey’s national report, domestic graduates of postgraduate coursework (taught master’s and similar courses) earned a median AUD 104,700.

If you want an employer to sponsor you (offer you a job and back your visa), the job must pay at least AUD 79,423. That’s the Core Skills Income Threshold, the salary floor for sponsorships lodged from 1 July 2026 to 30 June 2027. It’s more than the median Indian graduate earns.

  • You need at least 65 points on the PR points test before you can be invited to apply for permanent residency (PR), and 65 is only the floor for an invitation.
  • On the test’s points table, a master’s that meets the 92-week rule earns 5 points. Living and studying in an eligible regional area adds 5 more.
  • You can get a second 485 only if you studied at a regional institution, then held your first 485 while living only in a regional area for at least 2 years right before applying. Sydney, Melbourne and Brisbane don’t count.

Choose your field for the job market, then your campus for the points. Our in-demand courses in Australia guide shows which fields to start with, and the best courses to study in Australia guide ranks ten of them by graduate job rate.

Get in Touch

Frequently Asked Questions

No, not on its own. The 485 work visa needs a course registered for at least 92 weeks of study, about two academic years. A course registered for 1 year falls short. When a university offers 1, 1.5 and 2-year entry points for the same master’s, choose the 2-year one if you want to stay and work afterwards.

Yes, at many universities. Deakin sets a 3-year degree as the minimum for any taught master’s. Monash runs a 2-year Master of IT for any bachelor’s with at least a 60% average, and UniSQ’s Master of IT takes a 3-year bachelor’s in any area. Pick the 2-year version so the course also keeps your 485 open.

This counts tuition and living funds only, not visa charges or health cover. Melbourne’s 2-year Master of IT totals AUD 203,228 (₹1.37 crore): AUD 143,808 (₹96.7 lakh) tuition plus two years at AUD 29,710 (₹20.0 lakh). At Southern Cross University’s Master of IT, if its AUD 27,000 (₹18.2 lakh) fee holds in year 2, it is AUD 113,420 (₹76.3 lakh).

No, in most cases. From 2 October 2026, most Student visa applicants cannot include a partner or children, and family cannot join you later. A taught or research master’s is not exempt. PhD students may still include family, so a couple who must travel together should look at doctoral study instead.

No. The PR points test sets 65 points as the minimum to be invited, and 65 is only the floor. A 92-week master’s adds 5 points; living and studying in an eligible regional area adds 5 more. A sponsored job must pay at least AUD 79,423 (₹53.4 lakh) for sponsorships lodged from 1 July 2026 to 30 June 2027.

Ardent Overseas advises Indian students on Australian master’s admissions from its offices in Hyderabad and Tirupati. Its study in Australia consultants in Hyderabad shortlist courses by registered length in weeks so the 485 stays open, plan tuition, living funds and education loans with families, and check offer letters and student visa files before they are submitted. The papers for that file are in our documents required to study in Australia checklist.

Everything you need to study abroad, in one place.

Explore articles and guides that help you prepare with confidence, covering scholarship applications, financial planning, and tips for adapting to a new culture. We have built comprehensive resources to get you ready for your educational adventure.