Study in Finland Without IELTS: Rules at 16 Universities for Indian Students (2027)

Study in Finland Without IELTS
Study in Finland Without IELTS

Worried IELTS is the one thing between you and a Finnish degree? For 2027 entry you can study in Finland without IELTS if your Indian bachelor’s was taught in English, at universities including Helsinki, Aalto, Tampere, and Turku. An English-medium Class 12 doesn’t exempt you at any of them. If your plan rests on your CBSE or state-board English marks, rethink it first. The table below shows what 16 Finnish institutions accept in place of a test: a degree, a SAT score, or an interview.

Written by
Senior Counsellor
Ananya Nallagalla, Senior Counsellor for Nordic Countries at AOEC India (Hyderabad), has 7 years of experience in Nordic admissions and has counselled 113 students at AOEC India, specialising in Sweden and Finland.
95% visa success rate
Reviewed by
Managing Director
Mr. Kongara Sridhar, Director of AOEC India, has over 12 years of experience in overseas education consulting, admissions, and student visa guidance.
Over 12 years Experience

Key Takeaways

  • An English-taught Indian bachelor’s replaces IELTS at nine of the ten universities in the table. LUT and the Jamk and Oamk master’s programmes don’t accept it.
  • English-medium Class 12 marks don’t count as English proof in the joint application for universities of applied sciences (UAS).
  • Haaga-Helia’s rolling admission takes CBSE or ISC Class 12 with 65% overall, in English, and in Maths or Economics, plus an online interview.
  • Duolingo is not on the accepted test list for universities of applied sciences.
  • English proof for the Spring 2027 UAS joint application is due by 28 January 2027.
  • A Government proposal would add a language requirement to the student residence permit. It is not law yet.

A degree, SAT score, or interview can replace IELTS. For Spring 2027 Joint Application I (the first spring round of Finland’s national joint application system), an English-taught Indian degree counts as proof at universities of applied sciences (UAS) (UASinfo language requirements). This is new: India wasn’t on the Autumn 2026 list.

Your route depends on the documents you already have. A B.Com graduate from an English-medium college in Hyderabad takes the degree route; a CBSE Class 12 student takes SAT or an interview. Either way, to study in Finland without IELTS you still need a residence permit, and our guide to studying in Finland covers both steps.

  • SAT route (the US college admission test): Aalto’s Science and Technology and Business and Economics bachelor’s programmes need no official English proof. Tampere, Turku, LUT, and LAB take SAT applicants with no separate English test. Plan your scores around studying in Finland after 12th.
  • Interview route: Haaga-Helia’s rolling admission (applications reviewed year-round) accepts CBSE or ISC Class 12 with 65% overall, 65% in English, and 65% in Maths or Economics, then holds an online interview. State-board students can’t use this certificate route.

Three shortcuts fail. Class 12 completed in English in India doesn’t count as proof in the joint application. Duolingo isn’t on the UAS list. The International UAS Exam has a 20-minute English section, but you must prove English before you’re invited to sit it (International UAS Exam, spring 2027).

If no route fits, UAS bachelor’s programmes accept these Spring 2027 scores, and no others (UASinfo language requirements):

  • IELTS Academic 6.0
  • TOEFL iBT 60 for tests before 21 January 2026, or 3.5 on TOEFL’s new score scale for tests from that date
  • PTE Academic 55
  • Cambridge English Scale 169
  • TELC English B2-C1 University at B2
  • Oxford ELLT Global 6.0
  • YKI (Finland’s National Certificate of Language Proficiency) English grade 4 on every subtest

Finnish universities that accept an Indian degree instead of IELTS

Nine of the ten universities below accept an English-taught Indian degree as proof; LUT does not. The six universities of applied sciences (UAS) come after the shared UAS rule row.

InstitutionLevelEnglish-taught Indian degree exempts you?Class 12, SAT or interview routeIELTS minimum if no waiver
University of HelsinkiMaster’s; bachelor’sMaster’s: yes, if taught and assessed entirely in EnglishClass 12: no. Bachelor’s: SAT 550 Reading and Writing or ACT 43 (Helsinki bachelor’s language requirements)6.5, writing 6.0
Aalto UniversityMaster’s; bachelor’sMaster’s: yes, if at least half in English and at least a three-year bachelor’sClass 12: no. Science and Technology, Business and Economics: SAT or ACT, no English proof (Aalto bachelor’s admissions FAQ)6.5, writing 6.0 (master’s)
Tampere UniversityMaster’s; bachelor’sYes; at least 50% of courses in English if the degree mixed languagesClass 12: no. Bachelor’s: SAT or ACT taken after 1 January 2025, no further proof (Tampere bachelor’s language requirements)Master’s 6.5, no section below 6; bachelor’s 6.0, writing 5.5
University of TurkuMaster’s; bachelor’sYes, if at least half the degree was in EnglishClass 12: no. Bachelor’s: SAT, no separate certificate (Turku bachelor’s language requirements)Master’s 6.5, 6.0 each; bachelor’s 6.0, 5.5 each
Abo Akademi UniversityMaster’sYes (India listed since the autumn 2024 intake), taught and assessed entirely in EnglishSocial Exclusion master’s can assess your English itself if you have no other proof6.5, no band below 6.0
University of Eastern Finland (UEF)Master’sYes, with proof of the language of instructionNo exceptions beyond the listed proofsVaries by programme
LUT UniversityMaster’s; bachelor’sNo, India is not on the degree list; MOI statements not accepted (master’s)Bachelor’s: SAT 600 Reading and Writing, 700 Math, no other English proof (LUT rolling admission criteria)Master’s 6.5; bachelor’s 6.5 with 6.0 in writing and speaking
Hanken School of EconomicsMaster’s; bachelor’sYes, for an English-tuition degree from IndiaBachelor’s: SAT 600 Reading and Writing or ACT 49. Master’s: GMAT 550 or GRE Verbal 150Master’s 6.5; bachelor’s 6.0
University of LaplandMaster’sYes, India is on the degree list (spring 2027 round)None listed6.5, 6.0 each section
Uniarts HelsinkiMaster’sYes, bachelor’s or higher with English as the degree languageNone listed6.5, valid on the day the application period starts
UAS joint application rule (all universities of applied sciences)Bachelor’sYes, from the Spring 2027 application round (not Autumn 2026); taught and assessed entirely in EnglishClass 12: no6.0
Tampere University of Applied Sciences (TAMK)Bachelor’sYes, under the UAS joint application ruleMedia and Arts: pre-task and online interview. SAT for three engineering programmes, score by 31 March 20276.0 (UAS joint application list)
Jamk University of Applied SciencesBachelor’s; master’sBachelor’s: UAS rule. Master’s: no, except International Business Management, with the required degree and work experience plus 55 ECTS (European credits) of master’s-level management studies at Jamk or an approved institution such as Yenepoya, MangaloreICT online course route, no English certificate (Jamk joint application for bachelor’s)Bachelor’s 6.0 (UAS joint application list)
Haaga-Helia University of Applied SciencesBachelor’sNot needed on these routesRolling admission: CBSE or ISC Class 12, then an online interview you either pass or fail. Rolling admission with SAT: no separate English certificate (Haaga-Helia rolling admission for bachelor’s)Not needed on these routes
Oulu University of Applied Sciences (Oamk)Bachelor’s; master’sBachelor’s: yes, certificate or letter accepted. Master’s: no, India not on the listNone listedMaster’s 6.5, 5.5 per section (Oamk master’s language requirements)
LAB University of Applied SciencesBachelor’sNot statedRolling admission: SAT 600 Reading and Writing, 550 Math, no English proof6.5, all bands 5.5, taken within 2 years
Vaasa University of Applied Sciences (VAMK)Bachelor’sNot statedRolling admission: SAT Reading and Writing 400 counts as a language certificate; the interview also assesses EnglishNot stated

Helsinki and Abo Akademi need the degree taught and assessed entirely in English. Aalto, Turku, and Tampere accept a degree at least half in English, and Aalto also needs at least a three-year bachelor’s. Match programmes with our Finnish university list.

At a UAS, the master’s rules are stricter. Oamk’s master’s degree list leaves out India, Jamk’s does too, and so do Centria’s non-EU application requirements. UAS master’s programmes also want two years of relevant work experience (Study in Finland admissions), so a fresh graduate should aim at a master’s at a Finnish university instead.

  • Study at an offshore campus (a university’s branch in another country) outside the listed countries doesn’t count at Aalto, UEF, or Lapland. India is on all three lists.
  • Tampere refuses only a degree done entirely on a satellite campus (a branch away from the main university) outside its listed countries. It accepts distance learning from an institution in a listed country, such as India.
  • Under the UAS rule, a degree studied in India but awarded by a foreign institution outside the listed countries fails.

Check the band each programme needs against Finland’s admission requirements.

Proving an English-medium degree: MOI certificates and January 2027 deadlines

A medium of instruction certificate (MOI, a college letter naming your teaching language) is a backup, not your main proof. Under the UAS rule, the degree must be taught and assessed entirely in English, and your documents must say so. The simplest way to study in Finland without IELTS is a transcript or diploma supplement (the document explaining your degree) that already names English.

  • College letter accepted if your transcript doesn’t name the teaching language: Turku, UEF, Lapland, Abo Akademi, Tampere, and Aalto.
  • Documents must say it: at Helsinki, your documents must show the language. At Hanken, if no official document states it, you take a test. LUT refuses MOI statements for master’s entry.

Get your English proof in by these dates:

Check how old your score is: UAS admissions can’t verify TOEFL after two years or IELTS after three (UASinfo test verification rules).

From our counselling desk: Read your transcript before you book a test. If it names English and the university accepts your degree, you're done. If not, get a college letter first and apply where letters count. Book a test regardless for LUT master's and for the Jamk, Oamk, or Centria master's, because India isn't on their degree lists. For Helsinki or Hanken, book one when your documents don't name English. Book it in autumn: January leaves no room for a retake.

Does the Finland student residence permit need an English test?

No, not today. As of September 2026, the residence permit for studies asks for three things: a study place, funds, and insurance (Finnish Immigration Service residence permit for studies). On 10 September 2026, the Government proposed adding a language proficiency requirement (Government proposal on international students), so that list could grow.

For now, your permit rests on money, not English. Migri (the Finnish Immigration Service) requires at least EUR 800 a month for living costs, so you need EUR 9,600 in your bank account when you apply. Parents: Migri also asks for a bank statement covering the past 6 months. See the Finland student visa steps before you file.

Under the proposal, a permit could be refused for missing language skills. Some students were found with English too weak to cope with their studies. The timetable, if Parliament passes it:

  • The act is scheduled to enter into force on 5 April 2027.
  • Other amendments would apply from October 2027.

Neither date is tied to the language rule yet. If you start in autumn 2027, your permit application may fall between them, so keep a valid score or clear degree documents ready. You also can’t get a residence permit for a language course alone (Migri study place guidance), so a pre-sessional English course won’t get you in.

Get in Touch

Frequently Asked Questions

Yes, but not on your Class 12 English marks alone. Haaga-Helia’s rolling admission takes CBSE or ISC students with 65% overall, in English, and in Maths or Economics, then interviews them online. SAT applicants can also skip a separate English test at Aalto, Tampere, Turku, LUT, and LAB bachelor’s programmes.

Not for universities of applied sciences. Their joint application accepts only the tests on its list, with no exceptions, and Duolingo isn’t on it. Aalto accepts no method outside its own list. For a score, plan on IELTS, TOEFL, PTE Academic, or a Cambridge English exam.

No. Helsinki needs English named as the language of instruction on your official degree documents. LUT doesn’t accept MOI statements at all for master’s entry. Turku, UEF, and Lapland take a separate statement when your documents don’t name the teaching language.

Don’t count on it. At the University of Turku you can’t be admitted conditionally and prove your English after admission. At universities of applied sciences, a selection is revoked if your English isn’t verified by the deadline. Have your test result or degree documents ready before you submit.

It might. A Government proposal now before Parliament would let a student residence permit be refused for missing language skills. If passed, the act is scheduled from 5 April 2027 and other changes from October 2027, but the Government hasn’t said which date covers the language rule.

Sources

Official sources first: government, then national admissions services, then universities.

Everything you need to study abroad, in one place.

Explore articles and guides that help you prepare with confidence, covering scholarship applications, financial planning, and tips for adapting to a new culture. We have built comprehensive resources to get you ready for your educational adventure.

Study in Finland Consultants-Mobile

Finland

Expert Study in Finland Consultants in Hyderabad 10+ Years of Guidance 700+ Finland Students Counselled 98%+ Visa Success Rate 300+